Connect with us


Kaycee Feild matches his own record at Fort Worth

Six-time world champion Kaycee Feild matched the Fort Worth record he set last year in bareback riding with another score of 93 points on Monday. Feild, who has won Forth Worth’s signature square trophy buckle five times, rode Picket Pro Rodeo’s horse Night Crawler and advanced to the Semi-Finals on February 2-3. FWSSR photo by James Phifer

Johna Cravens for the Fort Worth Stock Show & Rodeo

FORT WORTH, Texas – The fourth performance of the 15-day, $1.2 million Fort Worth Stock Show & Rodeo (FWSSR) ProRodeo Tournament started with a record-setting performance in the bareback riding. Kaycee Feild of Genola, Utah, the six-time world champion, has won the signature square bareback riding trophy buckle as the champion of the Fort Worth rodeo five times.

His most recent win was last year when he broke the record for the highest bareback riding score ever recorded in Fort Worth – 93 points. This year he has dominated Bracket 2, winning the first round Sunday afternoon with a 90-point ride, then tying his own arena record Monday night with a 93-point effort on Pickett Pro Rodeo’s horse Night Crawler. He will continue his quest for another FWSSR bareback riding title when he returns for the Semi-finals February 2-3.

“This rodeo is legendary,” Feild said. “To come here and have a horse like that —she’s amazing. She just bucks harder with every jump.”

Marcus Theriot of Lumberton, Mississippi, and his partner Cole Curry of Liberty, Mississippi, roped a berth in the Semi-Finals by dominating Bracket 2 of team roping. The duo won round one on Sunday with a 4.9-second run. On Monday night they tied with Canadian brothers Dawson and Dillon Graham for first in round 2.

Mississippians Marcus Theriot and Cole Curry dominated Bracket 2 at the Fort Worth Stock Show & Rodeo’s ProRodeo Tournament. After winning the team roping in the first round on Sunday, they came back on Monday with this 6.0-second run which tied for first with Canadians Dawson and Dillon Graham. Theriot and Curry advanced to the Semi-Finals on February 2-3. FWSSR photo by James Phifer

Theriot was the last athlete to be named all-around cowboy here. He earned the honor in 2019, the last year the rodeo was held in Will Rogers Coliseum. Since the event moved to Dickies Arena, no individual cowboy has won money in more than one event, which means no all-around winner.

Joining the Mississippians in the Semi-Finals are Texans Casey Tew and Boogie Ray. Ray, a former NFR qualifier who doesn’t travel nationally much anymore, qualified to compete here by winning the Hood County Stampede Rodeo in Granbury last season.

Jestyn Jax Woodward of Custer, South Dakota, scored 86.5 points on Pickett Pro Rodeo’s bull Up the Ante Monday at the Fort Worth Stock Show & Rodeo’s ProRodeo Tournament. Woodward made the only qualified ride, won $4,400 and advanced to the Semi-Finals on February 2-3. FWSSR photo by James Phifer.

For the second consecutive round of Bracket 2 only one bull rider made a qualified ride. This time Jestyn Jax Woodward of Custer, South Dakota, scored 86.5 points on Pickett Pro Rodeo’s bull Outlaw and won $4,400. He advanced to the Semi-finals along with Missouri’s Jack Gilmore who was the only successful rider on Sunday.

The FWSSR ProRodeo Tournament features 56 competitors (56 teams in team roping) in each event, divided into seven brackets of eight. Individuals qualify by finishing the 2022 season in the top 50 of the world championship standings or winning one of six qualifying rodeos in Texas.

Contestants in each bracket compete in two rounds of back-to-back action. The top two money earners per bracket in each event advance to one of two semi-finals while the third-highest money winner advances to the Wild Card round. Those finishing lower than third go to the non-qualifier pool. The highest remaining money earner in  each event in the non-qualifier pool after all brackets are completed advances to the wild card round.

The top two in the wild card round advance to the semifinals and the top four from each semifinal advance to the finals on February 4.

The FWSSR ProRodeo Tournament continues at 7:30 p.m. Tuesday with a new group of contestants competing in Bracket 3 at Dickies Arena.

The following are unofficial results from the Fort Worth Stock Show & Rodeo’s Pro Rodeo Tournament, January 23, 2023.

(Qualifiers are based on tie-breaker rules.)

Bracket 2, Round 2

Bareback riding: 1, Kaycee Feild , Genola, Utah, 93 points on Pickett Pro Rodeo’s Night Crawler, $1,720. 2, (tie) Kyle Bloomquist, Raymond, Minn.; Hunter Lem Ramsey, El Dorado, Ark., and Seth Hardwick, Ranchester, Wyo., 88, $880 each.

Semi-finals qualifiers: Feild, $3,520, and Hardwick, $1,760. Wild card qualifier: Jacob Raine, Mount Pleasant, Tenn., $1,320.

Steer wrestling: 1, Riley Duvall, Checotah, Okla., 3.5 seconds, $1,760.  2, Tyler Waguespack, Gonzales, La., 3.8, $1,320. 3, Sam Goings, Fallon, Nev., 4.9, $880. 4, J.D. Struxness, Milan, Minn., 5.0, $440.

Semi-finals qualifiers: Waguespack, $3,080 and Riley Duvall, Checotah, Okla., $2,200. Wild Card Qualifier: J.D. Struxness, Milan, Minn., $1,320.

Breakaway roping: 1, Shai Schaefer, Lake Creek, Texas, 1.9 seconds, $1,760. 2, JJ Hampton, Stephenville, Texas, 2.0, $1,320. 3,  Taylor Hanchey, Carmine, Texas, 2.7, $880. 4, Shelby Boisjoli, Stephenville, Texas, 2.7, $440.

Semi-finals qualifiers: Hampton, $3,080, and Hanchey, $2,280. Wild Card qualifier: Schaefer, $1,760.

Saddle bronc riding: 1, Wyatt Casper, Miami, Texas, 87.5 points on Pickett Pro Rodeo’s Real Fancy, $1,760. 2, (tie) Damian Brennan, Injune, Queensland, Australia, and  Ryder Wright, Beaver, Utah, 86.5, $1,100. 4, Kody Rinehart, Rienzi, Miss., 86, $440.

Semi-finals qualifiers: Wright, $2,860, and Casper, $2,420. Wild Card qualifier: Traylin Martin, Faith, S.D., $1,320.

Tie-down roping: 1, Caleb Smidt, Bellville, Texas, 8.5 seconds, $1,760. 2, Reese Riemer, Stinnett, Texas, 9.0, $1,320.  3, Tyler Milligan, Pawhuska, Okla., 9.2, $880. 4, Hunter Herrin, Apache, Okla., 20.0, $440.

Semi-finals qualifiers: Reimer, $2,860, and Smidt, $1,760. Wild Card qualifier: Haven Meged, Miles City, Mont., $1,540.

Team Roping: 1, Marcus Theriot, Lumberton, Miss., and Cole Curry, Liberty, Miss.; and Dawson and Dillon Graham, Wainwright, Alberta, Canada, 6.0 seconds, $1,540 each. 3, Casey Tew, McDade, Texas, and Boogie Ray, Mabank, Texas, 11.6, $880 each. 4, Aaron Tsinigine, Tuba City, Ariz., and Kyle Lockett, Visalia, Calif., $14.5, $440 each.

Semi-finals qualifiers: Theriot and Curry, $3,300 each; and Tew and Ray, $2,200 each. Wild Card qualifier: Graham and Graham, $1,540.

Barrel Racing: 1, Kassie Mowry, Dublin, Texas, and Bradi Whiteside, Longview, Alberta, Canada, 16.56 seconds, $1,540 each. 3, Dona Kay Rule, Minco, Okla., 16.62, $880. 4, Shelley Morgan, Eustace, Texas, 16.64, $440.

Semi-finals qualifiers: Morgan, $2,200, and Rule, $1,760. Wild card qualifier: Mowry, $1,540.

Bull Riding: (one rides) 1, Jestyn Jax Woodward, Custer, S.D., 86 points on Pickett Pro Rodeo’s Outlaw, $4,400.

Semi-finals qualifiers: Woodward and Jack Gilmore, Ironton, Mo., $4,400 each. 

Tiny URL for this post:

Newsletter Signup

Get the latest equine news in the Rocky Mountain Region directly to your inbox twice a month!

Written By

Information is provided to The WRANGLER via press release. Information is the view of the writer, and not necessarily the views of The WRANGLER.

Click to comment

Leave a Reply

Trending Now

Tate on top Twice


Timeless Fashions


2023 Wrangler National Finals Breakaway Roping Will Be LIVE Streamed on Wrangler Network


Shop With Sharin

Barrel Racing

Newsletter Signup

Get the latest equine news in the Rocky Mountain Region directly to your inbox twice a month!